Pat’s switch for big Springboks clash

Pat Sanderson moves to openside flanker as England ring the changes for Saturday’s Investec Challenge international against South Africa at Twickenham (2.30pm), when they bid to end a seven-match losing streak.

Captain Martin Corry will return to the Number 8 role occupied by the Warriors skipper in the past two matches in a team that sees Mark Cueto return from an ankle injury to replace right-wing Paul Sackey, and Josh Lewsey taking over from Ben Cohen on the left.
Mathew Tait, Pete Richards, Andrew Sheridan, Tom Palmer, and Joe Worsley come in for Anthony Allen, Shaun Perry, Perry Freshwater, Danny Grewcock and Lewis Moody respectively.
The other positional switch takes Jamie Noon from outside to inside centre, while London Wasps prop Phil Vickery returns to the match squad for the first time since November, 2005.

Team: 01 Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks), 02 George Chuter (Leicester Tigers), 03 Julian White (Leicester Tigers), 04 Tom Palmer (London Wasps), 05 Ben Kay (Leicester Tigers), 06 Joe Worsley (London Wasps), 07 Pat Sanderson (Worcester Warriors), 08 Martin Corry (capt, Leicester Tigers), 09 Pete Richards (Gloucester Rugby), 10 Charlie Hodgson (Sale Sharks), 11 Josh Lewsey (London Wasps), 12 Jamie Noon (Newcastle Falcons), 13 Mathew Tait (Newcastle Falcons), 14 Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks), 15 Iain Balshaw (Gloucester Rugby)

Replacements: 16 Lee Mears (Bath Rugby), 17 Phil Vickery (London Wasps), 18 Chris Jones (Sale Sharks), 19 Lewis Moody (Leicester Tigers), 20 Shaun Perry (Bristol Rugby), 21 Andy Goode (Leicester Tigers), 22 Toby Flood (Newcastle Falcons)