Uncapped Grove gets Scots call-up

Worcester centre sensation Alex Grove is one of three uncapped players named in the Scotland squad for the first time.

The uncapped players have been named in Andy Robinson’s 32-man squad for next month’s opening autumn international against Fiji at Murrayfield.

Grove, who has made 26 appearances for Warriors and scored nine tries, impressed in the Scotland A team that won the IRB Nations Cup in Romania this summer and has now been called up for the first time for the senior side.

Director of Rugby Mike Ruddock said: “This is great news for Alex and for Worcester Warriors. He burst onto the scene last year with a man-of-the-match display at Wasps and has continued to prove he has what it takes to play at the highest level of the game. This is recognition of his ability and potential.”

The Scotland squad will gather for a three-day camp at St Andrews on Monday, November 2 then reconvene at Murrayfield the following Sunday ahead of the Fiji match on Saturday, November 14.

Robinson has said that other players could yet force their way into contention for the remaining games in the Autumn Tests – against Australia on November 21 and Argentina on November 28.

Scotland squad:

John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors), Mike Blair (Edinburgh), Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Cairns (Edinburgh), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Simon Danielli (Ulster), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester), Thom Evans (Glasgow Warriors), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Phil Godman (Edinburgh), Alex Grove (Worcester Warriors), Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors), Nathan Hines (Leinster), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Lamont (Toulon), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors), Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh), Scott MacLeod (Edinburgh), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Paterson (Edinburgh), Hugo Southwell (Stade Francais), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester), Richie Vernon (Glasgow Warriors), Nikki Walker (Ospreys), Jason White (Clermont Auvergne).