Talei all set for Flying Fijian action

Worcester Warriors have confirmed that back row Netani Talei will represent the Flying Fijians on next month’s tour to Europe after being named in a squad of 30 players.

Fiji have named a squad that includes 14 members of the 2007 Rugby World Cup team that performed so admirably in France by beating Wales to reach the quarter finals and gave eventual champions South Africa an almighty scare.

Fiji have also called up back pairing Mosese Rauluni of Saracens and Nicky Little of Bath, both now missing games against Warriors during the autumn period.

Director of Rugby Mike Ruddock said: “We will miss Netani Talei’s contribution during the autumn period, particularly as we’ve got two home Guinness Premiership games.

“There are still doubts over the fitness of Kai Horstmann to do with his ongoing rib problem, which has been slow to recover.

“But this could open up a number of opportunities for young players like Jake Abbott, who scored three tries for Warriors A against Leicester Tigers this week, and also James Collins and Marr Cox.

“We also have a number of exciting youngsters with players like James Freeman, who has already played a part in our pre-season fixtures, as well as Dave Askew who has impressed whenever he has been on the field for the A team.

“We wish every one of our internationals every success when they are given the opportunity to play international rugby, and as such I feel the experience with benefit Netani hugely and make him an even better player for the Warriors in the future.”

Fiji will play Scotland – and potentially Alex Grove – at Murrayfield on Saturday, November 14 before travelling to Dublin to tackle Ireland on Saturday, November 21 and concluding with a game in Romania on Saturday, November 28.
The full 30 member Fiji Rugby team for next month’s Europe tour is:

Graham Dewes, Aisake Tarogi, Alefoso Yalayalatabua, Deacon Manu, Vili Veikoso, Vereniki Sauturaga, Sireli Ledua, Josefa Domolailai, Wame Lewaravu, Ifereimi Rawaqa, Leone Nakarawa, Akapusi Qera, Asaeli Boko, Jimilai Nakaidawa, Samu Bola, Netani Talei, Jone Qovu, Kelemedi Bola

Mosese Rauluni, Waisale Vatuvoka, Nicky Little, Jonetani Ratu, Waisale Luveniyali, Seremaia Bai, Kameli Ratuvou, Vereniki Goneva, Filimoni Delasau, Nasoni Roko, Napolioni Nalaga, Norman Ligairi