Arr takes Player of the Year Award

Scrum half star Jonny Arr capped a stunning promotion season in the RFU Championship as he was named the Player-of-the-Year at the Worcester Warriors End of Season Dinner at Sixways Stadium on Friday night.

Warriors Academy product Arr, who has now made 77 appearances for the club, was presented with the top award by Chairman Cecil Duckworth OBE after he was selected by members of the local and national rugby media and coaching staff at Sixways. Neil Best, Kai Horstmann and Marcel Garvey were the fellow nominees for the award.

Head Coach Richard Hill said: “Jonny has been consistently good every single game this season for Warriors and a player we can really depend on.

“He has improved throughout the course of the season, is deeply committed to the Warriors and always strives to develop his understanding of the game.

“I always say that Jonny is the best technical tackler in the club. He doesn’t look the biggest and most powerful, but he punches way above his weight and has become a very good all-round scrum half.

“Jonny has an excellent pass, can make breaks and kicks well. I have been impressed with not only his ability but also his attitude and he fully deserves the Player of the Year award.”

Wing Marcel Garvey was honoured by his team-mates as he was named Players’ Player of the Year and given his award by Skill Development (Scrum) Coach Tony Windo. Neil Best and Andy Goode were also shortlisted for the award.

Warrior of the Year, awarded to the player that has through his commitment to Warriors and fellow group members gained total respect from his peers at the club for the way they have conducted themselves, was won by hooker Aleki Lutui and presented by Team Manager Alun Carter. Chris Fortey and Chris Pennell were also nominated.

The Community Award, for the player who has excelled with his commitment to the club’s work off the field in the local area, was won by flanker Jake Abbott and presented by Carol Hart, Chairman of the Warriors Community Foundation. Andy Goode and Neil Best also won praise.