Eagles set to land at the Churchill Cup

The USA have named their squad for the Churchill Cup this summer that will see the Eagles compete against England Saxons and Tonga before Finals Day at the home of the Warriors on Saturday, June 18.

The format for the Churchill Cup sees two pools of three teams, with Canada, Italy and Russia completing Pool B.

After the pool phase, first, second and third in each pool will then play for the Cup, Bowl and Plate in the elimination matches on June 18 at Sixways – the home of the Warriors!

The USA squad consists of thirteen overseas-based players, while seven members of the squad are currently in the UK representing the United States in the HSBC Sevens World Series and will be joining the team in England.

Commenting on selection, head coach Eddie O’Sullivan said “The fact that there are some players resting gives an opportunity to others to make a case for inclusion in the final selection for Rugby Word Cup. Also, as was impressed on the players at the recent domestic camp at the OTC (Chula Vista), omission from the Churchill Cup squad does not automatically mean omission from the Rugby World Cup squad. A lot of things can change between June and August, when the final selection will be made.”


Forwards: Inaki Basauri (L' Aquila), Chris Biller (San Francisco Golden Gate), Todd Clever (Suntory Sungoliath, Japan), Pat Danahy (Life University), Eric Fry (Las Vegas Blackjacks), JJ Gagiano (Univ. of Cape Town), Nic Johnson (Unattached), Will Johnson (London Irish), Danny LaPrevotte (San Francisco Golden Gate), Scott LaValla (Unattached), Mike MacDonald (Leeds Carnegie), Shawn Pittman (London Welsh), Louis Stanfill (Mogliano), Phil Thiel (Life University), John van der Giessen (Utah Warriors)

Backs: Paul Emerick (Life University), Tai Enosa (Belmont Shore), Troy Hall (New York Athletic Club), Colin Hawley (Olympic Club), Nese Malifa (Glendale), Mike Palefau (Utah Warriors), Mike Petri (New York Athletic Club), Mile Pulu (San Francisco Golden Gate), Junior Sifa (Nottingham RFC), Andrew Suniula (Chicago Griffins), Roland Suniula (Boston Rugby), Kevin Swiryn (Agen), Zack Test (Unattached), Tim Usasz (Nottingham RFC)

To purchase tickets for the Churchill Cup at Sixways call the Warriors Box Office on 01905 454183 or click HERE. Alternatively visit www.churchillcuprugby.net.