Kvesic shortlisted for LV= Player Award

England head coach Stuart Lancaster has backed a new award for this season’s LV= Cup – designed to recognise a young player who has stood out in the 2011-12 competition -that has seen Worcester Warriors ace Matt Kvesic shortlisted.

Subsequent to the re-launch of the LV= Cup in September, supporters are now being given the chance to have their say on who they believe has made an outstanding contribution to the competition over the past seven months with the introduction of the LV= Breakthrough Player Award.

Following in the footsteps of Charlie Sharples, Courtney Lawes and Ben Youngs, a twenty strong group of emerging stars will be whittled down to six by a panel – chaired by former Rugby World Magazine editor, Paul Morgan – of rugby experts: Martin Bayfield (ITV), Ieuan Evans (Sky), Gywn Jones (S4C) and Gavin Mairs (Telegraph).

Once the initial shortlist of six has then been selected, the fans take control via www.lv.com/rugby, where they can vote for their chosen player.

The player with the highest number of nominations will receive a Tag Heuer watch plus £1,000 donated to a local grassroots club of their choice and of course, the inaugural LV= Cup Breakthrough Player trophy.

As England head coach Stuart Lancaster comments, there are many worthy winners of the inaugural trophy with the LV= Cup competition providing an excellent breeding ground for academy players to experience first team action.

“It’s great to see LV= recognising the talent on offer in this competition through the LV= Breakthrough Player Award. There is a huge wealth of up and coming talent on show in the LV= Cup, and we’ve seen first-hand some of the exceptional players it has helped produce.

“The panel will have a tough job on their hands selecting the final six, as everyone included in the shortlist deserves recognition of the contribution they have made to their team during the competition. Best of luck to all those nominated!”

The 20 shortlist*, selected by Paul Morgan, now Head of Communications at Premiership Rugby, includes at least one player from all sixteen LV= Cup clubs.

“This list shows the depth of talent in both England and Wales and some of the players who have made a breakthrough in the 2011-12 season,” commented Morgan.

 “In compiling this initial list we were spoilt for choice and could have included another 50 players with ease. There is some great talent out there amongst the clubs in the LV= Cup, many of whom came through the clubs’ academies.

“We tried to come up with a list of players, Under-23, who have already had an impact on what has been a fascinating LV= Cup campaign so far. I don’t envy the panel members who now need to bring this long list down to six, and I will be fascinated to see who will win the fans’ vote which follows.”

LV=’s Head of Sponsorship Claire Jeromson also commented: “The 2011-12 LV= Cup has delivered some outstanding matches and we are thrilled to be launching an award that will identify some of the stand out players that have played a huge role in the success of this year’s competition.”

The LV= Cup is credited for playing a crucial role in the development of elite players and the introduction of the LV= Breakthrough Player Award aims to recognise and celebrate this talent.

Voting begins on Monday 6 February via LV.com/rugby, and closes at midnight on Sunday 11 March. The winner will be announced on Tuesday 13 March.

*LV= Cup Breakthrough Player 20 shortlist:

Pool 1
Bath Rugby – Olly Woodburn & Tom Heathcote
Saracens – Jamie George
London Wasps – Elliot Daly
Ospreys – Matthew Morgan

Pool 2
London Irish – Jonathan Joseph & Steve Shingler
Leicester Tigers – George Ford & Sam Harrison
Cardiff Blues – Dan Fish
Sale Sharks – Rob Miller

Pool 3
Scarlets – Adam Warren &  Liam Williams
Harlequins – Luke Wallace
Newcastle Falcons – Joel Hodgson 
Gloucester Rugby – Jonny May

Pool 4
Northampton Saints – Jamie Elliott
Exeter Chiefs – Dave Ewers
Newport Gwent-Dragons – Steffan Jones
Worcester Warriors – Matt Kvesic