Mullan called into England Saxons line-up

Worcester prop Matt Mullan comes into the England Saxons starting line-up for Friday night’s clash with Scotland A in Newcastle (8pm).

Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby) takes over from Christian Wade (London Wasps) on the right wing and Warriors’ prop Mullan replaces Nick Wood (Gloucester) at loose head.

Head coach Jon Callard has kept changes to a minimum to build on the momentum established with last week’s 14-10 win against the O2 Ireland Wolfhounds in Galway.

“We put in a really gritty performance against Ireland and to win over there was a deserved reward for all that hard work,” said Callard.

“Jonny May and Matt Mullan are both talented players who’ve trained hard to earn the chance to show what they can do against Scotland.”

The Saxons have trained on the all-weather surface at Druid Park this week, including a conditioned session with the Newcastle Falcons Academy, and will put the finishing touches to their game plan at the RFU Championship club’s Kingston Park home on Thursday night.

They will want to be at their best against Scotland after going down 35-0 in last year’s encounter at Galashiels.

“If you don’t get it right at international level, sides like this Scotland one will punish you heavily and that’s what happened last year,” added Callard.

“We’ve all learned from that and we’re determined to get it absolutely right this time round.”

England Saxons
15 Elliot Daly (London Wasps)
14 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)
13 Joel Tomkins (Saracens)
12 Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)
11 Tom Biggs (Bath Rugby)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
9 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)
1 Matt Mullan (Worcester Warriors)
2 Joe Gray (Harlequins)
3 Paul Doran-Jones (Northampton Saints)
4 Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers)
5 George Robson (Harlequins)
6 George Kruis (Saracens)
7 Will Fraser (Saracens)
8 Jordan Crane (Leicester Tigers, captain).

16 Rob Buchanan (Harlequins)
17 Nick Wood (Gloucester Rugby)
18 Kieran Brookes (Leicester Tigers)
19 Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)
20 Jamie Gibson (London Irish)
21 Joe Simpson (London Wasps)
22 George Lowe (Harlequins)
23 Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)