Worcester crowned women’s Premiership champions

Worcester were crowned Women’s Premiership champions for the first time ever in their 20-year history on Sunday.

The Sixways club clinched the title in the final round of league action this season after an impressive 48-8 victory at Wasps.

Worcester were presented with their Premiership title by the RFU’s Carol Isherwood and duly celebrated their title in style. Denying rivals Richmond a fourth consecutive title by just one point Worcester took the honours this year after 12 wins and just two defeats.

The close nature of the championship this term meant that Worcester travelled to Wasps at the weekend knowing they had to secure a bonus point win. And the away side announced their intentions from the onset and opened their account after just five minutes following a great break by centre Sarah Guest. Megan Goddard added the conversion.

Further tries from England U20s captain Goddard, England prop Rochelle Clark and Charlotte Keane banked the bonus point before more scores followed for Pippa Crews, Rhiannon Watkins and Goddard again.

At the other end of the table Thurrock were relegated into the Championship after their 18-15 play-off defeat to Aylesford Bulls who will now join the Premiership for the 2013-2014 season.