Warriors to battle Bristol in Anglo-Welsh Cup opener

After a year’s absence due to the Rugby World Cup calendar, the Anglo-Welsh Cup competition returns for the 2016/17 season. 

The fixtures for the upcoming campaign have been released, throwing up a mouthwatering start for Warriors fans as Carl Hogg’s side renew their rivalry with newly-promoted Bristol Rugby. 

Friday 4 November will see the first competitive meeting between the sides since their unforgettable Championship play-off final back in 2015 as Ryan Lamb’s final kick of the game secured promotion for Warriors. 

It’s then a trip to the Ricoh Arena to resume our West Midlands rivalry with Wasps on Sunday 13 November – a fixture which saw 19 tries in two matches during last season’s Aviva Premiership campaign. 

Warriors will then welcome Harlequins to the Artificial Grass Pitch of Sixways in the New Year, as the two sides go head to head on Saturday 28 January. 

When Warriors were last in the competition back in 2013/14, they secured a 21-16 win away at Cardiff Blues – and they’ll have the chance to repeat that feat when they travel to the BT Sport Arms Park for their final pool game on Saturday 4 February. 

Head Coach Carl Hogg said: “The Anglo-Welsh Cup provides a fantastic opportunity for some of our younger players to flourish on the big stage. 

“We have a really talented bunch of youngsters and playing against sides of the calibre of Bristol, Wasps and Cardiff will be ideal tests in their development.”

The clashes against Bristol and Harlequins at Sixways are included in Season Ticket holders’ packages. 

To book your place at every Warriors home game in 2016/17 with a Season Ticket, click here, call 01905 459309 or visit the Ticket Office.

Warriors' 2016/17 Anglo-Welsh Cup fixtures:
Warriors vs Bristol Rugby, Friday 4 November 2016 (kick-off 7.45pm), Sixways
Wasps vs Warriors, Sunday 13 November 2016 (kick-off 3pm), Ricoh Arena
Warriors vs Harlequins, Saturday 28 January 2017 (kick-off 3pm), Sixways    
Cardiff Blues vs Warriors, Saturday 4 February 2017 (kick-off 3pm), BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park