TEAM NEWS: Warriors announce squad for Singha Premiership Sevens

Warriors have named a young squad for the Singha Premiership Sevens at Newcastle Falcons’ Kingston Park this Saturday 30 July (live on BT Sport 1).

Warriors Academy product and England Under 20 world champion Huw Taylor will skipper the side with fellow Academy back rowers Sam Ripper-Smith, Tom Dodd and Ben Fowles also included. 

First-team fly-half Tiff Eden is in the side along with Academy winger Josh Adams while Warriors Under 18 stars Ted Hill and Dion King are also named in the 12-man squad. 

Warriors will start their day of Sevens action at 3.25pm against Leicester Tigers before back-to-back clashes against hosts Newcastle at 4.20pm and Sale Sharks at 4.50pm. 

Academy Manager Chim Gale said: “We’re excited about travelling up to Newcastle and to play some free-flowing rugby. 

“The competition will be an opportunity for some of the lads to showcase their talents at a great venue and also a special moment for some of them to pull on the Warriors jersey for the first time.

“Hopefully we can put on a good display and book a place at the Sevens Finals Day at Wasps’ Ricoh Arena.”

For tickets and details visit

Warriors Sevens squad:
1 Tom Dodd
2 Jaike Carter (Spain Sevens)
3 Sam Ripper-Smith
4 Huw Taylor (C)
5 Ted Hill (Warriors Under 18s)
6 Ben Fowles
7 Josh Adams
8 Tiff Eden
9 Harry Cochrane (Hartpury College)
10 Dion King (Warriors Under 18s)
11 Jordan Ainslie (England Sevens Academy)
12 Craig Jackson (Melrose RFC)

Group D fixtures
Game 1 – Sale Sharks v Newcastle Falcons, 3pm
Game 2 – Leicester Tigers v Worcester Warriors, 3.25pm
Game 3 – Leicester Tigers v Sale Sharks, 3.55pm
Game 4 – Newcastle Falcons v Worcester Warriors, 4.20pm
Game 5 – Sale Sharks v Worcester Warriors, 4.50pm

Game 6 – Leicester Tigers v Newcastle Falcons, 5.15pm

Finals Day – The Ricoh Arena, Sunday 7 August