23 - 8HT 17 - 8

Att 9,647
Fri 22 Dec 17, 7:45pm

TEAM NEWS | Van Velze and Denton start against Irish

Back row duo to start against against Irish on Friday night

Back row duo David Denton and GJ van Velze are both restored to Warriors’ Aviva Premiership starting line-up for this Friday night’s clash with London Irish at Sixways (kick-off 7.45pm).

Van Velze returns following a rib knock while Denton has impressed in the recent block of European Challenge Cup matches to earn a starting spot as Gary Gold’s side look to pull away from Irish at the bottom of the table.

The rest of the starting line-up is unchanged from the one that took on Sale Sharks three weeks ago, as Chris Pennell, Bryce Heem and Josh Adams form the pacey back three with Jackson Willison and Ryan Mills in the centre.

Francois Hougaard and Jono Lance complete the half-back combination.

Ethan Waller, Jack Singleton and Nick Schonert start in the front row while skipper Donncha O’Callaghan and Will Spencer maintain their places in the second row.

Sam Lewis joins Denton and Van Velze in the back row.

Darren Barry, Sam Olver and Perry Humphreys are called up to the squad as replacements after shining in the past couple of weeks against Oyonnax.

Warriors have picked up 13 points in their last four Premiership outings to move off the bottom of the table and sit six points ahead of Irish going into the clash.

15 Chris Pennell
14 Bryce Heem
13 Jackson Willison
12 Ryan Mills
11 Josh Adams
10 Jono Lance
9 Francois Hougaard
1 Ethan Waller
2 Jack Singleton
3 Nick Schonert
4 Donncha O’Callaghan (C)
5 Will Spencer
6 David Denton
7 Sam Lewis
8 GJ van Velze

16 Joe Taufete’e
17 Ryan Bower
18 Gareth Milasinovich
19 Darren Barry
20 Alafoti Faosiliva
21 Michael Dowsett
22 Sam Olver
23 Perry Humphreys

Competition: Aviva Premiership Rugby
Venue: Sixways
Referee: Wayne Barnes
Game Type: Home
Fixture Round: 11
Attendance: 9,647
No. Name T C D P
15 Greig Tonks 1P
14 Joe Cokanasiga
13 Tom Fowlie
12 Luke McLean
11 Alex Lewington 1T
10 James Marshall
9 Ben Meehan
1 Gordon Reid
2 Saia Fainga'a
3 Petrus du Plessis
4 Franco van der Merwe
5 Filo Paulo
6 Mike Coman
7 Blair Cowan
8 Ofisa Treviranus
16 Tom Woolstencroft
17 Harry Elrington
18 Lovejoy Chawatama
19 Sebastian de Chaves
20 Max Northcote-Green
21 Scott Steele
22 Tommy Bell
23 Aseli Tikoirotuma