20 - 21HT 13 - 6

Att 7,796
Sat 01 Sep 18, 3:00pm

TEAM NEWS | Heem returns to make 50th appearance in Wasps clash

Heem is back for season opener

Warriors flyer Bryce Heem has returned from a knee injury ahead of Saturday’s Gallagher Premiership opener against Wasps at Sixways (kick-off 3pm).

The Kiwi winger is set for his 50th Club appearance while three summer signings will make debuts in Alan Solomons’ starting 15.

Springbok Francois Venter and Scotland fly-half Duncan Weir start while prop Callum Black is set for his second debut, after returning to the Club for a second spell this summer.

Hooker Niall Annett is handed his first Premiership appearance since November 2016, having made his comeback from a series of injuries in last weekend’s pre-season win over Birmingham Moseley.

Nick Schonert joins Annett and Black in the front row while Anton Bresler and Darren Barry get the nod in the second row. Alafoti Faosiliva, Sam Lewis and skipper GJ van Velze occupy the back row.

Full-back Chris Pennell prepares for his 202nd game in the Blue and Gold next to Heem and Josh Adams in the back three, with the latter making his 49th Club appearance – which has included a whopping 30 tries so far.

Venter partners Ryan Mills in the centres while Weir is joined by Francois Hougaard in the half-back combination.

The replacements see new signings Cornell du Preez and Ashley Beck in line for their debuts, while Academy lock Andrew Kitchener is included.

15 Chris Pennell
14 Bryce Heem
13 Francois Venter
12 Ryan Mills
11 Josh Adams
10 Duncan Weir
9 Francois Hougaard
1 Callum Black
2 Niall Annett
3 Nick Schonert
4 Anton Bresler
5 Darren Barry
6 Alafoti Faosiliva
7 Sam Lewis
8 GJ van Velze (C)

16 Joe Taufete’e
17 Ryan Bower
18 Simon Kerrod
19 Andrew Kitchener
20 Cornell du Preez
21 Jonny Arr
22 Jono Lance
23 Ashley Beck

Competition: Gallagher Premiership Rugby
Venue: Sixways
Referee: Karl Dickson
Game Type: Home
Fixture Round: 1
Attendance: 7,796
No. Name T C D P
15 Rob Miller
14 Christian Wade
13 Elliot Daly
12 Juan de Jongh
11 Josh Bassett
10 Billy Searle 1C 3P
9 Dan Robson
1 Ben Harris
2 Tom Cruse
3 Will Stuart
4 Joe Launchbury 1T
5 Will Rowlands
6 Nizaam Carr
7 Joe Atkinson
8 Nathan Hughes
16 Tommy Taylor 1T
17 Zurabi Zhvania
18 Kieran Brookes
19 Charlie Matthews
20 Ashley Johnson
21 Joe Simpson
22 Gaby Lovobalavu
23 Marcus Watson