TEAM NEWS | Five internationals to start against Sale

Warriors have named five internationals, including debutant Farai Mudariki, in a strong side for the historic first Premiership Rugby Cup match against Sale Sharks at Sixways on Friday October 26  (kick-off 7.45pm).

Zimbabwe tighthead prop Mudariki, who was signed from French club Stado Tarbes during the summer, has played for the Cavaliers in the Premiership Rugby Shield and was involved in the Warriors matchday squad as a travelling reserve for the recent European Challenge Cup match against Stade Francais in Paris.

With Nick Schonert away on an England training camp in Portugal, Mudariki, has been named in the starting XV for the visit of Sale in the first match to be played in the new competition which has replaced the Anglo Welsh Cup.

Warriors will have four internationals – South Africa scrum-half Francois Hougaard and centre Francois Venter, Scotland fly-half Duncan Weir and Wales wing Josh Adams – in their back division as they give game time to players who were rested for the European victories over Stade Francais and Ospreys.

Ten of the side named for Sale’s visit started in Warriors’ last Gallagher Premiership match against Bristol three weeks ago.

Jamie Shillcock, who started at fly-half against Ospreys, switches to full-back in place of Chris Pennell, Ollie Lawrence partners Venter in the centre, Pierce Phillips renews a second row pairing with Anton Bresler and Matt Cox will start at blindside in place of Ted Hill who is also in Portugal with Schonert and centre Ben Te’o.

Loosehead prop Ryan Bower returns to the squad as a replacement with South Africa international centre Wynand Olivier also named on the bench.

Tickets for Warriors v Sale Sharks in the Premiership Rugby Cup can be purchased online, by calling 01905 459309 or by visiting the Warriors Ticket Office.


15 Jamie Shillcock
14 Bryce Heem
13 Ollie Lawrence
12 Francois Venter
11 Josh Adams
10 Duncan Weir
9 Francois Hougaard
1 Callum Black
2 Jack Singleton
3 Farai Mudariki
4 Anton Bresler
5 Pierce Phillips
6 Matt Cox
7 Sam Lewis
8 GJ van Velze (C)

16 Niall Annett
17 Ryan Bower
18 Gareth Milasinovich
19 Darren Barry
20 Matti Williams
21 Michael Heaney
22  Wynand Olivier
23 Perry Humphreys