17 - 13HT 3 - 10

Att 7,487
Sun 24 Feb 19, 1:00pm

Hill to start against Tigers

England flanker Ted Hill will start for Warriors in Sunday’s Gallagher Premiership match against Leicester Tigers at Sixways (kick-off 1.00pm).

Hill, who was capped against Japan at Twickenham in November, captained England Under-20s to victory over France at Exeter two weeks ago.

But Hill and centre OIllie Lawrence, who both impressed when they came off the bench at Harlequins last week, have both been recalled by Warriors for their first home since Premiership match since they beat Bath in the 19th minute of added time on January 5.

Hill takes the place of GJ van Velze, who has been ruled out by a forearm injury, in a rejigged back row. Marco Mama, who signed a one-year contract extension earlier this week, switches to number eight with Ryan Mills taking over as captain.

Fly-half Duncan Weir will again be on club duty having spent two days training with Scotland earlier in the week.

Wing Tom Howe, who scored Warriors’ fifth try at Harlequins after he came on as a replacement, will start his first Premiership match of the season. Howe has scored eight tries in as many first team matches this season.

The other change is at loosehead prop where Ethan Waller will also make his first Premiership start of the season.

Lawrence has been named as a replacement alongside lock Pierce Phillips, who has recovered from a foot injury, and fly-half Jono Lance who is set for his first appearance since he suffered a stress fracture of the back in November.


15 Chris Pennell
14 Bryce Heem
13 Francois Venter
12 Ryan Mills (C)
11 Tom Howe
10 Duncan Weir
9 Francois Hougaard
1 Ethan Waller
2 Jack Singleton
3 Nick Schonert
4 Anton Bresler
5 Michael Fatialofa
6 Ted Hill
7 Sam Lewis
8 Marco Mama

16 Isaac Miller
17 Callum Black
18 Gareth Milasinovich
19 Pierce Phillips
20 Matt Cox
21 Michael Heaney
22 Jono Lance
23 Ollie Lawrence

Leicester Tigers | 15 George Worth, 14 Jonah Holmes, 13 Gareth Owen, 12 Kyle Eastmond, 11 11 Jordan Olowofela, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Ben White, 1 Facundo Gigena, 2 Tom Youngs (C), 3 Dan Cole, 4 Harry Wells, 5 Graham Kitchener, 6 Mike Fitzgerald, 7 Mike Williams, 8 Sione Kalamafoni.

Replacements | 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Campese Ma’afu, 18 Joe Heyes, 19 Will Spencer, 20 Guy Thompson, 21 Harry Simmons, 22 Tom Hardwick, 23 Sam Aspland-Robinson

Competition: Gallagher Premiership Rugby
Venue: Sixways
Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys
Game Type: Home
Fixture Round: 14
Attendance: 7,487
No. Name T C D P
15 George Worth
14 Jonah Holmes 1T
13 Gareth Owen
12 Kyle Eastmond
11 Jordan Olowofela
10 Matt Toomua 1C 1P
9 Ben White
1 Facundo Gigena
2 Tom Youngs
3 Dan Cole
4 Harry Wells
5 Graham Kitchener
6 Mike Fitzgerald
7 Mike Williams
8 Sione Kalamafoni
16 Tatafu Polota-Nau
17 Campese Ma'afu
18 Joe Heyes
19 Will Spencer
20 Guy Thompson
21 Harry Simmons
22 Tom Hardwick 1P
23 Sam Aspland-Robinson