Davies and Thompson in England squad for historic Barbarians clash

Valkyries wing Lydia Thompson and hooker lark Davies have been named in the England Women squad to prepare for Sunday’s first match against Barbarians Women at Twickenham (kick-off 12.45pm).

Thompson returns to the England squad having missed this season’s Six Nations because of injury although she made a successful comeback with Valkyries at the end of their Tyrrells Premier 15s campaign.

Valkyries hooker Davies has cemented her international place during a successful campaign for club and country.

The 28-player squad assembled today at Bisham Abbey to prepare for the Barbarians match which will also provide England with valuable match preparation for the Women’s Rugby Super Series in San Diego at the end of June. The Red Roses are looking to build on this season’s Women’s Six Nations Grand Slam success.

While not available for the Barbarians match Cath O’Donnell (Loughborough Lightning) and Marlie Packer (Saracens Women) will attend the training camp. Alongside Sarah Beckett (Firwood Waterloo Ladies), Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens Women)and Emily Scarratt (Loughborough Lightning), they are all expected to be fit for the series in San Diego next month.

Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies), Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies) and Katy Daley-Mclean (Loughborough Lightning) won’t be available due to injury for the Red Roses’ upcoming campaign in USA. Breach is due to undergo shoulder surgery.

The fixture on Sunday will form part of a historic double header with the men’s match for the Quilter Cup which kicks off at 3:30pm.

England Women
Zoe Aldcroft (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC)
Sarah Bern (Bristol Bears Women)
Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women)
Jo Brown (Loughborough Lightning)
Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC)
Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women)
Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies)
Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries)
Chloe Edwards (Harlequins Ladies)
Rosie Galligan (Saracens Women)
Sarah Hunter (Loughborough Lightning)
Clara Nielson (Bristol Bears Women)
Ellena Perry (Saracens Women)
Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies)

Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women)
Tatyana Heard (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC)
Natasha Hunt (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC)
Claudia Macdonald (Wasps FC Ladies)
Sarah McKenna (Saracens Women)
Amber Reed (Bristol Bears Women)
Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies)
Emily Scott (Harlequins Ladies)
Kelly Smith (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC)
Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries)
Lagi Tuima (Bristol Bears Women)
Carys Williams (Loughborough Lightning)