Warriors’ Kone scoops prestigious national award

Warriors  Under-16 Academy player Cheick Kone scooped a prestigious national award at the House of Commons today.

Kone won the PLAY Achiever of the Year Award, supported by Gallagher, at the Premiership Rugby Parliamentary Community Awards. The award recognises those who have overcome physical, cultural or social barriers to become involved in the game whilst embodying the spirit of the PLAY campaign.

Kone was born in Ivory Coast and had no previous knowledge of rugby before he moved to England.

But after attending a Project Rugby session he is now a regular player for Wolverhampton Rugby Club and now part of Warriors’ Under-16 Academy having demonstrated his ability.

He has also had the opportunity to go to Wellington College for the England U16 festival. Cheick is now calmer, more positive about his future and has settled down in school with his academic studies.

Kone was the first of four award winners on stage to receive his award from Minister for Sport and Civil Society Mims Davies.

More than 310,000 people every year are assisted in some way through Premiership Rugby’s ‘Plan To Improve a Million Lives’, with initiatives designed for all walks of life.

“It is fantastic to see how committed Premiership Rugby and its clubs are to improving local communities. From health and education, to diversity and social inclusion, it is vital that we use the power of sport to help change lives for the better,” said Davies.

“Project Rugby, for example, is doing great work bringing young people from BAME communities into the game for the first time and HITZ is helping to get children back into education or employment.

“Walking Rugby is also helping older people to overcome social isolation and loneliness, which is great for me to see as Minister for Loneliness.

“I applaud all of this great work and all of the people being celebrated at the Premiership Rugby Community Awards.”

Winners of the 2019 Premiership Rugby Parliamentary Community Awards:

• PLAY Achiever of the Year Award, supported by Gallagher – Cheick Kone (Worcester Warriors)
• BREAKTHRU Achiever of the Year Award, supported by SCL – Jared Spence (Gloucester Rugby)
• Community Volunteer of the Year Award, supported by CVC – Connie Perkins (Wasps)
• Community Coach of the Year Award, supported by the All Party Parliamentary Group on Rugby Union – Craig Monaghan (Sale Sharks)

To read more about Premiership Rugby’s community programmes, please visit www.premiershiprugby.com/in-the-community or join the conversation #ImproveAMillionLives