Heather Fisher and Alex Matthews have been named in the GB Sevens squad for the forthcoming campaign as all roads lead to the rescheduled Tokyo Olympics.

Made possible by an innovative commercial partnership with The National Lottery, GB7s will operate a banded pay structure which will give equal opportunities across both the men’s and women’s programmes to be financially rewarded at the same level.

“It’s great to be part of the training squad and it’s going to be a tough road, but an exciting one that I can’t wait to get stuck into,” said Fisher, who is one of four players in the squad from Rio 2016.

“A big thank you to Worcester for the support – they have been amazing.”

Matthews added: “With a year of complete uncertainty, I’m really looking forward to this opportunity and I will be giving it my all.

“I wouldn’t be in the place I am at the moment without their support.”

Women’s Head Coach Scott Forrest has selected a group of 19 players which features a number of experienced names who have competed in recent years on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series events and at international XVs level.

16 members of the squad have played club rugby in the Allianz Premier 15s throughout the 2020/21 season to date.

GB Sevens Women

Holly Aitchison (Saracens Women)
Abbie Brown (Loughborough Lightning)
Abi Burton (Wasps FC Ladies)
Heather Fisher (Worcester Warriors Women)
Deborah Fleming (Saracens Women)
Megan Gaffney (Scotland Women’s Performance Programme)
Hannah Jones (Gloucester-Hartpury)
Megan Jones (Wasps FC Ladies)
Jasmine Joyce (Bristol Bears Women)
Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning)
Alex Matthews (Worcester Warriors Women)
Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning)
Celia Quansah (Wasps FC Ladies)
Chloe Rollie (Harlequins Women)
Helena Rowland (Loughborough Lightning)
Hannah Smith (Scotland Women’s Performance Programme)
Lisa Thomson (Scotland Women’s Performance Programme)
Emma Uren (Saracens Women)
Amy Wilson Hardy (Wasps FC Ladies)