Team news | Academy ten in matchday squad for Pirates trip

Warriors have included ten members of the Three Pears Warriors Academy in their matchday squad for their final pre-season friendly against Cornish Pirates at the Mennaye Field on Saturday (kick-off 5.00pm).

England Under-20s pair Seb Atkinson and Fin Smith will start along with back-row forwards Jack Forsythe – who came off the bench against Connacht last week – and Morgan Monks.

Scrum-half Ollie Wynn, also came off the bench against Connacht is named among the replacements along with hooker Joe Richardson and loosehead prop Ben Murphy, who are also in their second year in the Senior Academy.

Richardson and Murphy are set for their first taste of senior rugby after COVID-19 forced the cancellation of last season’s Premiership Rugby Cup and Shield competitions.

Lock Cheick Kone, wing Tobi Wilson and hooker Finn Theobald-Thomas are all in their first year on the Senior Academy at Sixways and have also been named on the bench.

Wing Jack Johnson, a summer recruit from Hartpury, will make his first appearance for Warriors with number eight Jamie McCartney, who is on loan from Hartpury, named as a replacement.

Back-row forward Caleb Montgomery, who made a try-scoring debut for Pirates against the Royal Navy last week at the start of a loan spell with the Greene King IPA Championship club, will play for Warriors against them this week.

The side to face Pirates is subject to change as Montgomery, Monks, Jamie Shillcock, James Scott, Graham Kitchener, Tom Howe and Perry Humphreys have also been named in the matchday squad for Friday’s friendly against Glasgow Warriors at Sixways.

Warriors| 15 Jamie Shillcock, 14 Alex Hearle, 13 Seb Atkinson, 12 Will Butler (CC), 11 Jack Johnson, 10 Fin Smith, 9 Gareth Simpson, 1 Marc Thomas, 2 Isaac Miller (CC), 3 Jack Owlett, 4 James Scott, 5 Graham Kitchener, 6 Caleb Montgomery, 7 Jack Forsythe, 8 Morgan Monks.

Replacements | Joe Richardson, Kai Owen, Joe Morris, Cheick Kone, Jamie Macartney, Finn Theobald-Thomas, Ben Murphy, Ollie Wynn, Tom Howe, Perry Humphreys, Tobi Wilson.