Under-18s set for Wasps challenge after festive break

Warriors Under-18s have made five changes to their starting XV for their second match in the Premiership Rugby Under-18s Academy League against Wasps at Aylesbury on Saturday (kick-off 2.00pm).

Warriors were beaten by Sale Sharks in their opening match in the competition last month and had a bye the following week.

They will return to action against a Wasps side who currently head the Northern Conference following victories against Yorkshire Rugby Academy and Newcastle Falcons.

Full-back Jack Kinder and wing Oli Smith will make their first appearances of the season as starters against Wasps.

Hooker Loic Keasey and flanker Owen Boxall, who each scored a try when they came off the bench against Sale, both start this week along with fly-half Jack Condliffe who was used as a replacement against Sale.

Lock George Boyle and prop Finn Haynes are set to make their first appearances as a replacement against Wasps.

“Having a bye in week two has given the Under-18s players a good rest over the festive period,” said Mike Hall, Manager of the Three Pears Warriors Academy.

“They have come back in ready to go and have been working with great intensity in training.

“We are looking to put a strong performance in against Wasps this weekend but are under no illusion of the challenge the game will present to us.

“We played them at the RFU festivals at Under-17s and Under-18s in August at Malvern College and both games were extremely close. We have taken some good learning from the Sale game and will be looking to implement that this coming weekend.”

Warriors Under-18s | 15 Jack Kinder (Solihull School and Silhillians), 14 Oli Smith (Hartpury College and Abergavenny), 13 Will Pugh (Stourport HS and Luctonians), 12 Archie Jones (Stourport HS and Bridgnorth), 11 Alex Wills (Hartpury College and Worcester), 10 Jack Condliffe (Stourport HS and Luctonians), 9 Alex Terry (King’s School and Worcester), 1 Lewys Walsh (Hartpury College and Aberdare), 2 Loic Keasey (RGS Worcester and Worcester), 3 Will Couch (Hartpury College and Berkswell & Balsall), 4 Will Chater (King’s Worcester and Worcester), 5 Harvey Cuckson (Ellesmere College and Mold), 6 Will Owen (Ellesmere College and Whitchurch), Owen Boxall (Bishop Vesey’s GS and Lichfield), 8 Theo Mayell (Monmouth School and Monmouth – captain).

Replacements | 16 Ethan Allen (Stourport HS and Telford Hornets), 17 Aaron Hackett (Stourport HS and Stourbridge), 18 Finn Haynes (Stourport HS and Claverdon), 19 George Boyle (King’s School and Worcester), 20 Sam Hawes (King’s School and Ledbury), 21 Woody Facey (Hartpury College), 22 Billy McDonough (Bromsgrove School), 23 Dan Chambers (Stourport HS and Wolverhampton), 24 Billy Emerick (Stourport HS and Upton on Severn).