Te’o becomes Warriors’ first Lion

Ben Te’o has been named in the 41-man British & Irish Lions squad to tour New Zealand this summer. 

He becomes the first player at Warriors to be selected for the Lions while playing his club rugby at Sixways. 

It’s been a remarkable campaign for Te’o, who joined Warriors in the summer of 2016 before making his England debut on November 12 against South Africa at Twickenham. 

Te’o featured three times for England as they went unbeaten in their autumn internationals while he played in every game in the RBS 6 Nations.

His maiden England try against France proved the difference in their tournament opener before they went on to secure a second successive title.

Wales back row Sam Warburton will captain the Lions while Coach Warren Gatland has chosen 16 England players, 12 from Wales, 11 from Ireland and two from Scotland.

The tour, which runs from June 3 to July 8, features three Tests against the All Blacks, who are world champions.

British & Irish Lions 2017 squad
Forwards: Rory Best (Ireland), Dan Cole (England), Taulupe Faletau (Wales), Tadhg Furlong (Ireland), Jamie George (England), Iain Henderson (Ireland), Maro Itoje (England), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales), George Kruis (England), Courtney Lawes (England), Joe Marler (England), Jack McGrath (Ireland), Ross Moriarty (Wales), Sean O'Brien (Ireland), Peter O'Mahony (Ireland), Ken Owens (Wales), Kyle Sinckler (England), CJ Stander (Ireland), Justin Tipuric (Wales), Billy Vunipola (England), Mako Vunipola (England), Sam Warburton (Wales)

Backs: Dan Biggar (Wales), Elliot Daly (England), Jonathan Davies (Wales), Owen Farrell (England), Leigh Halfpenny (Wales), Robbie Henshaw (Ireland), Stuart Hogg (Scotland), Jonathan Joseph (England), Conor Murray (Ireland), George North (Wales), Jack Nowell (England), Jared Payne (Ireland), Jonathan Sexton (Ireland), Tommy Seymour (Scotland), Ben Te'o (England), Anthony Watson (England), Rhys Webb (Wales), Liam Williams (Wales), Ben Youngs (England)