Warriors face Newcastle Falcons in Singha Premiership Sevens quarter-finals

Warriors will face Newcastle Falcons in the Singha Premiership Sevens quarter-finals on Saturday after thumping Sale Sharks and Bath Rugby to finish top of Pool C.

The Sixways side stormed to a 27-0 lead in their opening game against Sale before condemning Bath to a 35-17 defeat in their second match of the day.

The two victories ensured Warriors finished with a maximum ten points after racking-up an impressive ten tries.

Matt Cox was the star of the show in the opener as he went over for a hat-trick in the wet conditions.

The former England Sevens international opened the scoring before Ben Howard touched down to give Warriors a 10-0 lead at half-time.

Alex Forrester showed his class with a try after the interval before Cox added two more as Warriors dominated from start to finish.

Warriors took their fine form into their second encounter as Tom Dodd, Forrester and Max Stelling touched down in the first-half.

Huw Taylor and Will Butler put their side out of reach in the second period as Gordon Ross’ side enjoyed a fine night of rugby.

Warriors will return to Franklin’s Gardens on Saturday as they look to make their mark on the latter stages of the competition.

The winner of their quarter-final against Newcastle, which kicks off at 3.22pm, will face either Gloucester Rugby or Harlequins in the semi-finals.

Pool C

Sale Sharks 0-27 Warriors
Warriors Tries | Matt Cox (3), Ben Howard, Alex Forrester
Warriors Conversions | Max Stelling

Warriors 35-17 Bath Rugby
Warriors Tries | 
Tom Dodd, Alex Forrester, Max Stelling, Huw Taylor, Will Butler
Warriors Conversions | Max Stelling (3), Alex Forrester (2)

Bath Rugby Tries | Fin Dewar, Rory Wood, Levi Davis
Bath Rugby Conversions | Sikeli Rokovunicagi

Warriors Sevens squad 
1 Matt Cox
2 Buster Lawrence (Birmingham Moseley)
3 Huw Taylor
4 Tom Dodd
5 Ben Howard
6 Max Stelling (C)
7 Nick David
8 Alex Forrester (Hartpury College)
9 George Wootten (University of Bath)
10 Afeafe Haisila Lokotui
11 Alex Hearle
12 Will Butler