Denton named on bench for Calcutta Cup clash

Denton named amongst the replacements as Scotland host England

David Denton has been named on the bench for Scotland’s Calcutta Cup clash with England at BT Murrayfield on Saturday (kick-off 4.45pm).

Denton will make his second appearance of the NatWest 6 Nations if called upon after winning his 36th cap for Scotland when he came off the bench in their win against France earlier this month.

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has reselected the starting line-up from Scotland’s Round Two win over France.

The Scots fought back from two ten-point deficits in their victory over France and scored 12 unanswered points in the final quarter to post their first win of the 6 Nations.

Scotland do make three changes to the bench, however, as prop Willem Nel, lock Tim Swinson and centre Nick Grigg all come in.

Scotland boss Townsend said: “The players put a huge amount of effort into our win over France. They found a way to win and kept attacking the opposition up until the final whistle.

“England are the number two side in the world and have shown a very good level of consistency in the past couple of seasons. This is due to the quality of their playing and coaching staff, who have done a tremendous job.

“They have a very good defence, an excellent set-piece and like to get 10 and 12 on the ball as much as possible in attack.

“Taking on England is going to be a huge challenge and we are well aware that only our very best will be good enough in this fixture.

“As always our supporters will play a vital role throughout the match and we’re delighted to be back at BT Murrayfield with the backing of our home fans.”

Scotland Squad
15 Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors – 57 caps)
14 Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors – 41 caps)
13 Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors – 13 caps)
12 Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors – 30 caps)
11 Sean Maitland (Saracens – 31 caps)
10 Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors – 34 caps)
9 Greig Laidlaw VC (ASM Clermont Auvergne – 60 caps)
1 Gordon Reid (London Irish – 29 caps)
2 Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby – 14 caps)
3 Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby – 6 caps)
4 Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby – 20 caps)
5 Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors – 40 caps)
6 John Barclay C (Scarlets – 68 caps)
7 Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby – 17 caps)
8 Ryan Wilson VC (Glasgow Warriors – 34 caps)

16 Scott Lawson (Newcastle Falcons – 47 caps)
17 Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors – 5 caps)
18 Willem Nel (Edinburgh Rugby – 19 caps)
19 Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors – 33 caps)
20 David Denton (Worcester Warriors – 36 caps)
21 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors – 13 caps)
22 Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors – 1 cap)
23 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby – uncapped)