Cornell du Preez named on the bench for Scotland

Cornell Du Preez has been named on the bench for Scotland for their Guinness Six Nations opener against Ireland in Dublin on Saturday (kick-off 4.45pm)

The Warriors back row has been in great form this season and has played 13 games in all competitions to win a Test recall for his country. Du Preez will be looking to add to his six international caps and his first since overcoming a fractured larynx in September 2018.

The 28-year-old won his last cap against Wales in Cardiff in the 2018 Six Nations and this is the first time that du Preez has been involved in a Scotland squad since he joined Warriors.

Scotland Head Coach, Gregor Townsend, said: “We have managed to cover a lot of work in the two weeks we’ve been together and we’ve been impressed with how our players have taken on information and bonded as a team.

“Our goal is always to play to our potential. The challenge to do this starts on Saturday against Ireland.

“Playing to our potential starts with our collective mindset. That means being alert, focussed and resilient right from the beginning, to be ready for the physical battle that lies ahead and able to stay in the fight throughout the 80 minutes.

15. Stuart Hogg (C) (Exeter Chiefs) – 72 caps
14. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 44 caps
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 23 caps
12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps
11. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 17 caps
10. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps
1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 3 caps
2. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 46 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 25 caps
4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 55 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – 14 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 28 caps
8. Nick Haining (Edinburgh) – uncapped

16. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh) – 33 caps
17. Allan Dell (London Irish) – 28 caps
18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 24 caps
19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 22 caps
20. Cornell du Preez (Worcester Warriors) – 6 caps
21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 10 caps
22. Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints) – 3 caps
23. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 14 caps