TEAM NEWS | Warriors Women vs Saracens Women

Warriors Women welcome Saracens Women to Sixways Stadium tomorrow as the curtain comes down on the 2020/21 Allianz Premier 15s season (kick-off 2pm, live streamed).

A campaign of progress, which saw Warriors pick up 12 points from a possible 15 in March to cement their place in the top seven, ends with the visit of table-toppers Sarries who they met in north London on the opening day.

Warriors have made four changes from their last outing, with centre Jade Shekells missing out through injury. Shekells, scorer of arguably the try of the season in her side’s 29-21 victory over Bristol Bears in March, is replaced by Vicky Foxwell, with Meg Varley partnering her at inside centre.

England capped Caity Mattinson starts at scrum-half, while Taz Bricknell rounds off the changes at blindside flanker.

“Unfortunately, we haven’t got Jade who has done a really good job for us this season,” said Warriors Women Director of Rugby Jo Yapp.

“Jade has put in some really impressive performances, however she has an injury, and we want to look after her.

“Vicky Foxwell comes into the team and brings a slightly different dimension to the centre partnership, while Zoe Heeley also comes onto the bench having trained exceptionally well and she deserves an opportunity.”

Expecting a physical challenge from Saracens, Yapp added: “They are top of the league for a reason and they’re a really experienced side who will bring a lot of physicality.

“It will be an interesting game for them as they’ve already secured their place in the play-offs, but they’ll want to get some good momentum going into that and we’re looking forward to the physical challenge that they’ll bring.”

Warriors Women | 15 Carys Cox, 14 Paige Farries, 13 Vicky Foxwell, 12 Meg Varley, 11 Vicky Laflin, 10 Sarah Nicholas, 9 Caity Mattinson, 1 Caryl Thomas, 2 Carmen Tremelling, 3 Flo Long, 4 Cara Brincat, 5 Amelia Buckland Hurry, 6 Taz Bricknell, 7 Alex Callender, 8 Sioned Harries

Replacements | 16 Abby Smitheman, 17 Akina Gondwe, 18 Elizabeth Shermer, 19 Jemima Moss, 20 Charlotte Wright Haley, 21 Brooke Bradley, 22 Abi Kershaw, 23 Zoe Heeley

Game Type:
Fixture Round: